The Krakow Branch of the Polish International Studies Association (Polskie Towarzystwo Studiów Międzynarodowych, PTSM) was founded in 2010 and is the oldest branch of the association. The PTSM itself was formally established in 2009.

However, already on 12 September 2008, the then vice-rector of the Jagiellonian University, Professor Andrzej Mania, hosted a group of prominent International Relations scholars from Poland, who took the initiative to establish the association, in Krakow. They chose the name and made Professor Edward Haliżak responsible for drafting the association’s statute and preparing the founding congress.

The following persons participated in the meeting: prof. dr hab. Edward Haliżak (University of Warsaw), prof. dr hab. Roman Kuźniar (University of Warsaw), prof. dr hab. Andrzej Mania (Jagiellonian University), prof. dr hab. Tadeusz Marczak (University of Wrocław), prof. dr hab. Marek Pietraś (Maria Curie-Skłodowska University), prof. dr hab. Katarzyna Żukrowska (Warsaw School of Economics), prof. dr hab. Lubomir Zyblikiewicz (Jagiellonian University).

Upon establishment, the Krakow branch of the PTSM comprised of 29 persons. The members of the first PTSM Krakow Board were:

  • Prof. dr hab. Andrzej Mania – President,
  • Prof. dr hab. Lubomir Zyblikiewicz – Vice-president,
  • Dr Artur Gruszczak – Board Member,
  • Dr Marcin Grabowski – Secretary,
  • Dr Wojciech Michnik – Treasurer.